Dreamgirls

Every girl wants to be a dreamgirl. One day you’re singing in the shower, and the next day, you are singing on the stage! Not to mention the wigs, the glittery outfits, and the cheering throng. Jennifer Hudson is living that dream. She started as a shy, chubby songbird on American Idol and graduated to a big-league diva in a matter of months. Very few dreamgirls are born with the silver spoon in their mouths. Kate Hudson, maybe-the sticklike ditzy blonde born to sixties “It Girl” Goldie Hawn. Drew Barrymore-offspring of the famous Lionel Barrymore and Ethel Barrymore-got a boost from the Golden Age of Hollywood glitterati. But how about you and me? Maybe your parents were schoolteachers or plumbers in Podunk, Louisiana. How can we live the dream? Well, we have the opportunity to be rich heiresses. We don’t have to own a hotel chain like Paris and Nicky Hilton. The Bible tells us we are heirs to the riches of heaven and the blessings on earth. Jesus came to redeem the world. He bought it back with His blood when He died on the cross. John the disciple wrote these words: “The true light (Jesus) that lights up every man was coming into the world. He was in the world, and though the world was made through him, the world did not recognize Him. He came to His own people, and they didn’t receive Him. Yet to all who received Jesus, the ones who believed in His name (that He was God’s son and came to give eternal life to the world by the ransom that He paid on the cross), He gave the right to become children of God-not children of natural descent, nor of human decision, but born of God. John 1:8-12, (Julie’s paraphrase). Every movie star would like to escape the aging process-no plastic surgery, nothing drooping or falling apart. God says when we invite Jesus into our lives, we have life forever. We cheat death. Cool, huh? WE have all of His riches. We even get crowns for all sorts of great stuff.

I even read in John 14 that there are mansions in heaven and we each get one. The ones in California are subject to smogs and earthquakes. These are better. Now why would God want us to be Dreamgirls? Just one reason-He loves us. He loved us before we were even born, and He wants to bless every aspect of our lives. Now that’s what I call a dream come true!

3 Responses to “Dreamgirls”


  1. 1 dogonablog January 6, 2007 at 3:31 am

    Maybe I don’t get it, and I don’t mean to sound oldfashioned but, juxtaposing JC and Paris Hilton, just seems plain wrong to me, like a mixed message… Paris is all about this material world and although he was man, JC was a lot more into doing for others than overexposing himself. I know I don’t want to be a DreamDog… I want to be a freedom fighter for unconditional love… but don’t all dogs really?

  2. 2 dogonablog January 7, 2007 at 1:20 am

    Hey, dogonablog-The idea is that so many of us that walk through this world are chasing things that will never last. I don’t condemn Paris or Nicky, I’d just love for them to know what’s beyond the world that they can see. Heaven is amazing. When I met Jesus, I found a deeper reality than anything you can know on this earth. Jesus wasn’t just a man. He was God-and a God who breathed all of Creation into existence-even Paris and Nicky. And to imagine that the Creator of the Universe would become a man just to know us and to give us an opportunity to live forever is really amazing. I just watched my best friend die of cancer. It was horrible. She wasted away to 90 pounds, breathed out of a bloody tube in her throat, and lost her speech. But she would write me notes. and do you know what she wrote? these words “Do not be afraid. In my Father’s house are many mansions. If it were not so, I would have told you. And when I go, I will come back and take you to myself to be with me.” John 14:1,2. Can you imagine the reality of sitting in a bloody bed, telling me how excited she was to know that Jesus was coming for her? That’s the kind of faith I want to have when I am there in that bed. And I am confident I will see her in heaven….By the way, all dogs go to heaven! Cool, huh?

  3. 3 Temeka June 9, 2013 at 3:24 pm

    Do you have a spam issue on this site; I also am a blogger,
    and I was wanting to know your situation; we have created some nice methods and
    we are looking to exchange strategies with others, why not shoot me an e-mail if interested.


Leave a comment




RSS Living Proof with Beth Moore

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Precepts for Life with Kay Arthur

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Great Commandment Radio

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Casas Church Sermons